Department of Public Safety

Badge Photo

The Department of Public Safety for the Blue Springs School District was formed in 2005. In 2009 the Blue Springs School District was authorized by the Missouri State Legislature to commission its own certified police officers. This made The Blue Springs School District the first public school in the state of Missouri to form its own Police Department and employ certified police officers. Since then the department has grown and is currently comprised of the Executive Director of Student Safety Sam Gilkey, Administrative Assistant Chris Kupka, fifteen commissioned officers and two police canines. The Blue Springs School District Department of Public Safety is currently housed at the Paul Consiglio Education Center. The office serves as a centralized command center for the law enforcement staff and functions as a hub for the more than 800 video cameras providing district surveillance.

Office Information


Paul J. Consiglio Education Center

 1501 NW Jefferson St.

 Blue Springs, MO 64015

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m.- 3:45 p.m. 


How to reach us

By Phone: (816) 874-3330

By Email: [email protected]